+32(0)14 95 39 40

Reference case – Oxfam Belgium

Home » Reference case – Oxfam Belgium

Fnac Vanden Borre reduces the number of transports & containers through smarter internal organization

Oxfam Belgium is an NGO that fights against inequality and for economic justice. Together with 3.200 local organizations it is active in more than 90 countries. With their slogan 'The Power of People against Poverty' they help 25 million women, men and children to climb out of poverty with development projects, emergency aid and awareness raising.

 

Through its second-hand department, Oxfam Belgium is always looking for used items (textiles, books, toys, brocante, computers,...) to sort and then sell in one of its 30 second-hand shops. With the proceeds, the organization supports social goals and social employment. But the search for those things also has its challenges. Unfortunately, among all the beautiful things that Oxfam receives, there are regularly non-reusable items that end up in industrial waste.

 

In its fight for Climate Justice, the organization strives to reuse as much as possible and to throw away as little as possible, let alone incinerate and thus lose the products and its raw materials.

How do you effectively reduce residual waste?

To better sort its waste, Oxfam Belgium looked for a partner with expertise in the recycling sector. They found it in 2021 with Recycling Partners Belgium (RPB). RPB relieves companies of their total waste and materials management. As an independent partner, the company focuses on sustainability, optimal waste valorisation and total unburdening.

 

RPB assists its customers in reducing their residual waste to be incinerated with the aim of achieving higher recycling scores and ultimately saving an average of 60% CO2 and reducing costs. Thanks to RPB's expertise and connections, the collaboration with Oxfam Belgium quickly turned out to be a good match.

"


It was clear from the start that there were similarities in the DNA of Oxfam Solidarity and that of RPB. Prevention of waste and reuse of materials is the common denominator. Through a hands-on approach from both sides, we have jointly managed to get the waste and materials management of Oxfam's logistics center and its stores under control and we are on the road to better together.

Stijn Smetsers
Partner at RPB

Analyze, reorganize and recycle

At the start of the collaboration, RPB carried out a Quickscan: it mapped out waste and materials management in Oxfam's central sorting center and later also in the organization's second-hand shops. This analysis soon showed that there were still various materials in the residual waste that could be recycled.

 

After this analysis, the two partners rolled up their sleeves and reorganized the source sorting together. They did that by:

♻️ Adjust the policy by reviewing which fractions needed to be sorted.
♻️ Provide additional internal and bulk collection containers.
♻️ Designate local and specialist processors.
♻️ Train the staff & provide the correct instructions.

 

In this way, fractions such as hard plastics, colored foil and ceramics are now also collected, removed and processed separately. Another method of collecting ICT equipment was also set up in consultation with Oxfam.

Oxfam Belgium's mission is close to RPB's heart. That is why, in addition to reducing industrial waste, she also wanted to devote herself to the search for high-quality items that Oxfam can offer its customers. RPB followed suit and deployed its customers and partner network to highlight Oxfam Belgium's activities and to promote its activities. In this way, RPB encourages its connections to donate and reuse items instead of throwing them away as waste.

What has the collaboration with RPB brought?

After one year of working with RPB, the result for Oxfam is impressive. Since 2021, the organization has 20% less residual waste† A great result of which Oxfam Belgium and RPB can rightly be proud.

"


RPB is the right partner for us at the right time. When optimizing our waste processing, RPB always helps us to find solutions that keep the right balance between the social, ecological and economic aspects.

Lien Baeten
Responsible for the management of the second-hand department,
Oxfam Belgium

Curious about what RPB can do for your organization?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

+ 32 (0) 14 95 39 40

Cas de référence – Oxfam Belgique

Accueil » Cas de référence – Oxfam Belgique

Oxfam Belgium réduit ses déchets industriels de 1% en 20 an en collaboration avec RPB

Oxfam Belgique est une ONG qui lutte contre les inégalités et pour la justice économique. Avec 3.200 90 organisations locales, elle est active dans plus de 25 pays. Avec leur slogan "Le pouvoir des personnes contre la pauvreté", ils aident XNUMX millions de femmes, d'hommes et d'enfants à sortir de la pauvreté grâce à des projets de développement, d'aide d'urgence et de sensibilisation.

 

A travers son rayon brocante, Oxfam Belgium est toujours à la recherche d'objets d'occasion (textiles, livres, jouets, brocante, ordinateurs,...) à trier puis revendre dans l'une de ses 30 friperies. Avec les recettes, l'organisation soutient des objectifs sociaux et l'emploi social. Mais la recherche de ces choses a aussi ses défis. Malheureusement, parmi toutes les belles choses que reçoit Oxfam, il y a régulièrement des objets non réutilisables qui finissent dans les déchets industriels.

 

Dans son combat pour la justice climatique, l'organisation s'efforce de réutiliser le plus possible et de jeter le moins possible, encore moins d'incinérer et donc de perdre les produits et ses matières premières.

Comment réduire efficacement les déchets résiduels ?

Pour mieux trier ses déchets, Oxfam Belgique a recherché un partenaire expert dans le secteur du recyclage. Ils l'ont trouvé en 2021 avec Recycling Partners Belgium (RPB). RPB soulage les entreprises de la gestion totale de leurs déchets et matières. En tant que partenaire indépendant, l'entreprise mise sur la durabilité, la valorisation optimale des déchets et le délestage total.

 

RPB accompagne ses clients dans la réduction de leurs déchets résiduels à incinérer dans le but d'atteindre des scores de recyclage plus élevés et à terme d'économiser en moyenne 60% de CO2 et de réduire les coûts. Grâce à l'expertise et aux relations de RPB, la collaboration avec Oxfam Belgium s'est rapidement avérée être un bon match.

"


Il était clair dès le départ qu'il y avait des similitudes dans l'ADN d'Oxfam Solidarité et celui de RPB. La prévention des déchets et la réutilisation des matériaux sont le dénominateur commun. Grâce à une approche pratique des deux côtés, nous avons réussi conjointement à maîtriser la gestion des déchets et des matériaux du centre logistique d'Oxfam et de ses magasins et nous sommes sur la bonne voie ensemble.

Stijn Smetser
Partenaire chez RPB

Analyser, réorganiser et recycler

Au début de la collaboration, RPB a réalisé un Quickscan : il a cartographié la gestion des déchets et des matériaux dans le centre de tri central d'Oxfam et plus tard également dans les magasins d'occasion de l'organisation. Cette analyse a rapidement montré qu'il restait encore divers matériaux dans les déchets résiduels qui pouvaient être recyclés.

 

Après cette analyse, les deux partenaires ont retroussé leurs manches et réorganisé ensemble le tri à la source. Ils l'ont fait en :

♻️ Ajustez la politique en passant en revue les fractions à trier.
♻️ Prévoir des conteneurs de collecte internes et en vrac supplémentaires.
♻️ Désigner des transformateurs locaux et spécialisés.
♻️ Former le personnel et fournir les bonnes instructions.

 

De cette manière, des fractions telles que les plastiques durs, les feuilles colorées et la céramique sont désormais également collectées, retirées et traitées séparément. Un autre mode de collecte des équipements TIC a également été mis en place en concertation avec Oxfam.

La mission d'Oxfam Belgique tient à cœur à RPB. C'est pourquoi, en plus de réduire les déchets industriels, elle a également voulu se consacrer à la recherche d'articles de haute qualité qu'Oxfam peut proposer à ses clients. RPB a emboîté le pas et déployé son réseau de clients et de partenaires pour mettre en avant les activités d'Oxfam Belgium et promouvoir ses activités. De cette manière, RPB encourage ses relations à donner et à réutiliser des objets au lieu de les jeter comme déchets.

Qu'a apporté la collaboration avec RPB ?

Après un an de collaboration avec RPB, le résultat pour Oxfam est impressionnant. Depuis 2021, l'organisation a 20% de déchets résiduels en moins† Un beau résultat dont Oxfam Belgique et RPB peuvent à juste titre être fiers.

"


RPB est le bon partenaire pour nous au bon moment. Lors de l'optimisation de notre traitement des déchets, RPB nous aide toujours à trouver des solutions qui maintiennent le juste équilibre entre les aspects sociaux, écologiques et économiques.

Lien Baeten
Responsable de la gestion du rayon seconde main,
Oxfam Belgique

Curieux de savoir ce que RPB peut faire pour votre organisation ?

Partage via
Copier le lien