+32(0)14 95 39 40

Reference case – Danone Rotselaar

Home » Reference case – Danone Rotselaar

Sustainable waste and materials management for Danone Rotselaar with RPB's sorting courses

Danone is a food company specializing in dairy products and yogurt. Since the XNUMXs, Danone has had a production unit in Belgium, which today is one of Danone's flagships.

 

Danone Rotselaar is the largest yogurt production site in Europe with many assets that have proven their worth for decades: the ideal location in the heart of Europe, well-trained staff and fresh milk of high quality from the nearby dairy farms. Their specialty? Drinking yoghurts in 100 ml bottles.

 

The factory is one of the most innovative, people-oriented and environmentally conscious factories. With their brand new slogan 'One Planet. OneHealth.' Danone reflects its vision: human health and the health of the planet are connected.

The road to sustainable waste and materials management

With this slogan in mind, Danone has been making great efforts for many years to correctly sort their used materials in order to use natural raw materials as sustainably as possible. Nevertheless, Danone noted that there are still countless possibilities for better sorting and for removing more materials from residual waste.

 

Together with its employees, the company strives for a zero waste environment. This means designing products and managing processes to systematically avoid and remove not only the quantity, but also the toxicity of waste and material. For example, resources are preserved and restored instead of being burned.

 

This sustainable and environmentally conscious mentality is not always self-evident to apply. To ensure that this mentality lives in all layers of the organization, Danone went looking for a strategic partner to work with them to make waste management more sustainable and to attract as many employees as possible to the sustainable cart and to strive for a zero waste environment.

A reliable partner for a sustainable environment

Danone had a clear goal in mind in its search for the right partner: the organization they would work with had to focus on sustainability, with expertise in waste valorisation, internal organization and the legal framework.

 

Recycling Partners Belgium (RPB) was the ideal fit. RPB acts as a central waste and materials manager, unburdening organizations such as Danone. Together with Danone, RPB set to work, step by step.

 

In collaboration with the environmental coordinator of Danone Rotselaar, they started work on the waste policy and its practical implementation. At the start of the collaboration, a Quickscan was performed of the waste management and various optimizations were identified, on which Danone and RPB then work together with a view to reducing residual waste, increasing recycling scores and cost efficiency. The role and expertise of the local and/or specialized collectors and processors appointed by RPB is crucial in this regard.

"


Perfect waste and materials management does not exist because it is highly dependent on circumstances and human behaviour, but together with our customer we strive for better every day, step by step, fraction by fraction, fiber by fiber. Clear policies and widely supported sorting instructions and training are an essential part of this process.

Stijn Smetsers
Partner at RPB

Sorting training to raise awareness among employees

An important part of this entire process was not only the sorting instructions and tests, but also the associated training. Sorting and recycling waste is a daily task within Danone's production and logistics. Through the sorting training, RPB involves the employees who are effectively involved in Danone's materials process.

RPB provided 8 training courses on all Danone production shifts. The training was also given during the weekend and at night, in order to inform each of the 45 Danone employees involved in the material process about these new sorting instructions and tests. The purpose of these training courses is to inform and raise awareness among staff about the need for sorting at source. In this way, as much material as possible can be recycled in the simplest possible way and it does not have to be incinerated.

"


This sorting training is also important to show our people, who collect the waste and material flows on a daily basis, how important their task is. This is often underestimated, as is the impact of incorrect sorting.

Griet Lambrechts
Environmental Coordinator, Department EHSF
Danone Rotselaar

Well-trained employees with sorting knowledge and insight into the recycling process ensure the success factor in the process towards a zero waste environment. Thanks to the collaboration between RPB and Danone, the Danone Rotselaar factory is again one step closer to its goal!

Curious about what RPB can do for your organization?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

Gestion durable des déchets et des matériaux pour Danone Rotselaar avec les cours de tri de RPB

Danone est une entreprise alimentaire spécialisée dans les produits laitiers et les yaourts. Depuis les années XNUMX, Danone dispose d'une unité de production en Belgique, qui est aujourd'hui l'un des fleurons de Danone.

 

Danone Rotselaar est le plus grand site de production de yaourts en Europe avec de nombreux atouts qui ont fait leurs preuves depuis des décennies : une localisation idéale au cœur de l'Europe, un personnel bien formé et du lait frais de haute qualité provenant des fermes laitières voisines. Leur spécialité ? Yaourts à boire en flacons de 100 ml.

 

L'usine est l'une des usines les plus innovantes, axées sur les personnes et soucieuses de l'environnement. Avec leur tout nouveau slogan 'One Planet. OneHealth.' Danone reflète sa vision : la santé humaine et la santé de la planète sont liées.

La voie vers une gestion durable des déchets et des matériaux

Avec ce slogan en tête, Danone s'efforce depuis de nombreuses années de trier correctement ses matériaux usagés afin d'utiliser les matières premières naturelles de la manière la plus durable possible. Néanmoins, Danone a noté qu'il existe encore d'innombrables possibilités pour mieux trier et éliminer davantage de matériaux des déchets résiduels.

 

Avec ses employés, l'entreprise s'efforce d'atteindre un environnement zéro déchet. Cela signifie concevoir des produits et gérer des processus pour éviter et éliminer systématiquement non seulement la quantité, mais aussi la toxicité des déchets et des matériaux. Par exemple, les ressources sont préservées et restaurées au lieu d'être brûlées.

 

Cette mentalité durable et soucieuse de l'environnement n'est pas toujours facile à appliquer. Pour s'assurer que cette mentalité se perpétue à tous les niveaux de l'organisation, Danone est parti à la recherche d'un partenaire stratégique pour travailler avec eux afin de rendre la gestion des déchets plus durable et d'attirer autant d'employés que possible vers le chariot durable et de lutter pour un environnement zéro déchet. .

Un partenaire fiable pour un environnement durable

Danone avait un objectif clair en tête dans sa recherche du bon partenaire : l'organisation avec laquelle il travaillerait devait se concentrer sur la durabilité, avec une expertise dans la valorisation des déchets, l'organisation interne et le cadre juridique.

 

Recycling Partners Belgium (RPB) était la solution idéale. RPB agit en tant que gestionnaire central des déchets et des matériaux, déchargeant des organisations telles que Danone. Avec Danone, RPB s'est mis au travail, étape par étape.

 

En collaboration avec le coordinateur environnemental de Danone Rotselaar, ils ont commencé à travailler sur la politique des déchets et sa mise en œuvre concrète. Au début de la collaboration, un Quickscan a été réalisé sur la gestion des déchets et diverses optimisations ont été identifiées, sur lesquelles Danone et RPB travaillent ensuite ensemble en vue de réduire les déchets résiduels, d'augmenter les scores de recyclage et la rentabilité. Le rôle et l'expertise des collecteurs et transformateurs locaux et/ou spécialisés désignés par RPB sont cruciaux à cet égard.

"


La gestion parfaite des déchets et des matériaux n'existe pas car elle dépend fortement des circonstances et du comportement humain, mais avec notre client, nous nous efforçons de nous améliorer chaque jour, étape par étape, fraction par fraction, fibre par fibre. Des politiques claires et des instructions de tri et une formation largement soutenues sont un élément essentiel de ce processus.

Stijn Smetser
Partenaire chez RPB

Formation au tri pour sensibiliser les collaborateurs

Une partie importante de tout ce processus était non seulement les instructions et les tests de tri, mais aussi la formation qui allait avec. Trier et recycler les déchets est une tâche quotidienne au sein de la production et de la logistique de Danone. A travers la formation au tri, RPB implique les collaborateurs qui sont effectivement impliqués dans le processus matériaux de Danone.

RPB a dispensé 8 formations sur l'ensemble des équipes de production de Danone. La formation s'est également déroulée le week-end et la nuit, afin d'informer chacun des 45 salariés Danone impliqués dans le processus matière sur ces nouvelles consignes et tests de tri. L'objectif de ces formations est d'informer et de sensibiliser le personnel à la nécessité du tri à la source. De cette façon, autant de matériaux que possible peuvent être recyclés de la manière la plus simple possible et il n'est pas nécessaire de les incinérer.

"


Cette formation au tri est également importante pour montrer à nos collaborateurs, qui collectent quotidiennement les flux de déchets et de matières, l'importance de leur tâche. Ceci est souvent sous-estimé, tout comme l'impact d'un tri incorrect.

Griet Lambrechts
Coordinatrice Environnement, Département EHSF
Danone Rotselaar

Des employés bien formés avec des connaissances en matière de tri et une compréhension du processus de recyclage constituent le facteur de succès du processus vers un environnement zéro déchet. Grâce à la collaboration entre RPB et Danone, l'usine Danone de Rotselaar fait à nouveau un pas de plus vers son objectif !

Curieux de savoir ce que RPB peut faire pour votre organisation ?

Partage via
Copier le lien